Databases

March 18, 2008

What's new in ISI Web of Knowledge

Access to the New ISI Web of Knowledge
Live WebEX training sessions
Short Recorded Trainings
Visit ISI's web site to learn more

The next time you access ISI Web of Knowledge, you'll find more power, easier access and new options. Here's a summary of the latest enhancements, available February 03.

Dual access discontinued

Since August, you've had access to both the new and previous versions of ISI Web of Knowledge. As of February 03, all users and institutions will access the new version only. Access to the older version is discontinued.

The URL will continue to be http://isiknowledge.com

Access all databases in new interface

Now, users can access all ISI Web of Knowledge databases via the new, intuitive interface, including:

  • Derwent Innovations IndexSM 
  • MEDLINE®
  • Web Citation Index
  • Journal Citation Reports® 
  • Essential Science IndicatorsSM 
  • Highly Cited Researchers

Easily access relevant Web search results

Thomson Scientific WebPlus complements ISI Web of Knowledge searches with editorially selected, quality content from the open Web. One click brings you highly relevant and prioritized Web results. You can launch a WebPlus search from the All Databases homepage, from an individual product homepage, or from the top of All Database search results pages.

ResearcherID — a unique author identifier 

This new tool for the global research community at: http://www.ResearcherID.com increases researchers' visibility and makes their work more accessible. A unique ID number expressly associates each researcher with his published work, and lets others easily find full publication lists and avoid the common problem of author misidentification. Users can easily search the Researcher ID registry to find citations, collaborators, speakers, editors, and reviewers. Links to more information are in the sidebar at the right-hand side of the ISI Web of Knowledge homepage.

New links to CAB Abstracts® Plus collections

Now, co-subscribers can link directly from CAB Abstracts records on ISI Web of Knowledge to full-text information in CAB Abstracts Plus collections. These collections provide access to the full text of hard-to-find journals, conference proceedings and reports; distribution maps; and detailed descriptions and illustrations of fungi and bacteria. These links are automatically enabled for current co-subscribers of CAB Abstracts on ISI Web of Knowledge and CAB Abstracts Plus.

Interface and resources files available in Simplified Chinese

To help serve the needs of the international user community and improve usability for Chinese users, Thomson Scientific has made the ISI Web of Knowledge interface, help files and other resource files available in Simplified Chinese. You can choose to view files in Chinese from the bottom of any ISI Web of Knowledge page.

March 14, 2008

Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPDB) Now Accessible via TOXNET

CPDB, the Carcinogenic Potency Database, was developed by the Carcinogenic Potency Project at the University of California, Berkeley, and by the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. It reports analyses of animal cancer tests on 1547 chemicals. Results for each chemical are now searchable via the National Library of Medicine (NLM) Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET(r))

CPDB includes 6540 chronic, long-term animal cancer tests (both positive and negative for carcinogenicity) from the general published literature as well as from the National Cancer Institute and the National Toxicology Program. Such tests are used in support of cancer risk assessments for humans.  Information that is important in the interpretation of bioassays is reported in CPDB for each experiment each chemical in TOXNET via chemical name or name fragment, or by Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number (RN).

Results include a summary for each sex-species tested, including carcinogenicity, target organs, and carcinogenic potency values. Detailed results from each experiment on the particular chemical are given in a plot format suitable for screen viewing. Chemical structure, InChI (http://www.iupac.org/inchi/), and SMILES codes (http://www.daylight.com/smiles/)  are reported.

(Report from National Library of Medicine)

March 07, 2008

ISI - More Changes to Enhance Usbility

The next time you aaccess ISI Web of Knowledge, you’ll find many changes that address your concerns about functionality and ease of use. New features bring you:

  • A      new Web of Science      tab that takes users directly to this premier resource
  • A      handy information box on the All Databases search page that directs users      to essential Web of      Science features such as cited reference searching and      Citation Reports
  • A      direct URL to Journal      Citation Reports: http://isiknowledge.com/jcr

February 04, 2008

New access to ISI Web of Knowledge: Available Feb. 3

Dual access to be discontinued - All databases in new interface - Fully integrated Web search - And more ...
WebEx-button-wok-btn2-libra

wok-btn1-ENG

wok-btn4_ENG

The next time you access ISI Web of Knowledge, you'll find more power, easier access and new options. Here's a summary of the latest enhancements, available February 03.

Dual access discontinued

Since August, you've had access to both the new and previous versions of ISI Web of Knowledge. As of February 03, all users and institutions will access the new version only. Access to the older version is discontinued.

The URL will continue to be http://isiknowledge.com

Access all databases in new interface

Now, users can access all ISI Web of Knowledge databases via the new, intuitive interface, including:

  • Derwent Innovations IndexSM
  • MEDLINE®
  • Web Citation Index
  • Journal Citation Reports®
  • Essential Science IndicatorsSM
  • Highly Cited Researchers

Easily access relevant Web search results

Thomson Scientific WebPlus complements ISI Web of Knowledge searches with editorially selected, quality content from the open Web. One click brings you highly relevant and prioritized Web results. You can launch a WebPlus search from the All Databases homepage, from an individual product homepage, or from the top of All Database search results pages.

ResearcherID — a unique author identifier

This new tool for the global research community at: http://www.ResearcherID.com increases researchers' visibility and makes their work more accessible. A unique ID number expressly associates each researcher with his published work, and lets others easily find full publication lists and avoid the common problem of author misidentification. Users can easily search the Researcher ID registry to find citations, collaborators, speakers, editors, and reviewers. Links to more information are in the sidebar at the right-hand side of the ISI Web of Knowledge homepage.

New links to CAB Abstracts® Plus collections

Now, co-subscribers can link directly from CAB Abstracts records on ISI Web of Knowledge to full-text information in CAB Abstracts Plus collections. These collections provide access to the full text of hard-to-find journals, conference proceedings and reports; distribution maps; and detailed descriptions and illustrations of fungi and bacteria. These links are automatically enabled for current co-subscribers of CAB Abstracts on ISI Web of Knowledge and CAB Abstracts Plus.

Interface and resources files available in Simplified Chinese

To help serve the needs of the international user community and improve usability for Chinese users, Thomson Scientific has made the ISI Web of Knowledge interface, help files and other resource files available in Simplified Chinese. You can choose to view files in Chinese from the bottom of any ISI Web of Knowledge page.

January 28, 2008

Library Workshops

This semester, the Library is offering the following workshops to help pump up your research skills. Please let your students know.  Hope to see you here!

Alerting Services for the Sciences

Thursday, Feb. 21, 2008, 10-11:00 am and 2-3:00 pm
USF Tampa Library LIB 209

Workshop Description: What is an Alert Service? Why use an Alert Service? How can it help you with your research? Find out more about how this database service works, how you can use it to streamline your research, and why it is important for you to know how to use it. Set up an alert service using a major scientific database during this workshop.

Intended Audience: Faculty, graduate and undergraduate students in the sciences.

Click here to register.

Researching the Literature in the Social Sciences:  Beyond the Basics

Friday, February 29, 2008, 2-4:00 pm
USF Tampa Library LIB 209

Workshop Description: You know the basics—the library catalog, the databases in your discipline and many of the tools for coursework and basic projects, but now you want to go deeper either because you are getting ready for writing your thesis or you want to submit a manuscript for publication. This workshop will cover the tools researchers use to go beyond the basics to do an exhaustive review of the literature. Learn how to follow the bibliographic trail by using super-googling techniques, World Catalog, cited author references, and bibliographies.

Intended Audience: Faculty, graduate and honors students in the social sciences.

Click here to register.


Using the ideas of others: Citing sources and avoiding plagiarism

Wednesday, March 12, 2008, 2-3:30 pm
USF Tampa Library LIB 209

Workshop Description: Almost all fields of research involve the intensive tracing of theories and ideas already authored. As critical thinkers, we are invited to evaluate, extend, and create our own ideas by examining the fine research available. There’s always an art to science, however, and part of this art involves using the right sources and giving proper credit to the academic achievements already published. This workshop will explore the basics of citation and its many styles, as well as how to avoid plagiarism and use new tools, like RefWorks.

Intended Audience: Faculty, graduate and honors students in all academic areas.

Click here to register.

Citations Cramping Your Style: Use RefWorks

Multiple dates or suggest your own date.
USF Tampa Library

Workshop Description:
RefWorks is an online bibliographic management program that allows faculty, students, and staff at USF to create a personal database of references. Learn how to automatically export citations from a search performed in some online databases or enter citations manually and then automatically create your bibliography in a host of styles including APA, MLA, Chicago, or Turabian. RefWorks can also be used to organize your citations by topic. Or, try the Write-n-Cite addon with MicroSoft Word to input in-text citations and automatically generate a bibliography when your paper/article is complete. USF faculty, staff and students have unlimited access to this software.

Intended Audience: Faculty, graduate and undergraduate students in any discipline.

Click here to register.

ISI Web of Knowledge

SIS Web of Knowledge


Product Update

We’d like to let you know that the next ISI Web of Knowledge upgrade will now take place on February 03, 2008.

January 16, 2008

Public Access Mandate for NIH Research

PUBLIC ACCESS MANDATE FOR NIH RESEARCH BECOMES LAW
On December 26, 2007, President Bush signed into law the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2007 (H.R. 2764s) , which includes a provision that directs the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to provide open online access to all of its federally-funded research findings. This is the first time the U.S. government has mandated public access to research funded by a major agency.

In 2005, the NIH agreed to make research findings available if its researchers agreed to do so, but with this new mandate, all agency-funded investigators will be required to deposit electronic copies of their peer-reviewed manuscripts into the National Library of Medicine’s online archive, PubMed Central. Full texts of these peer-reviewed articles will be publicly available and searchable online in PubMed Central no later than 12 months after publication in a journal.

December 14, 2007

News from Shimberg Library

GCG (Genetics Computer Group)/Wisconsin Sequence Package to be Discontinued by Producer

Accelrys has announced that as of June 2008 they will no longer offer the Accelrys GCG (Genetics Computer Group) formerly known as the GCG/Wisconsin Sequence Package product.

The Library's subscription will be available until then.

If you have any questions please contact Rose Bland at 974-2289.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For All You Researchers…

NIH Research Matters, at http://www.nih.gov/news/research_matters, is an eColumn highlighting NIH research developments.

Subscribe to the RSS news feed (http://www.nih.gov/news/research_matters/feed.xml) or get email alerts when new stories are posted by joining the LISTSERV (https://list.nih.gov/cgi-bin/wa?SUBED1=nihresearchmatters-l&A=1). 

You can contact the editor, Harrison Wein, at weinh@od.nih.gov or 301-435-7489.

(Courtesy of NNLM News Alert.)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blogging on BMJ.com!   

BMJ now has several blogs available for reading on their site.  These include a weekly review of the leading medical journals, news reports from conference attendees worldwide, and a blog featuring a BMJ editor tracking her carbon footprint.   Read all about it and contribute (if you like) at http://blogs.bmj.com/   

December 11, 2007

Bentham Publishers Open Access Journals

Bentham Publishers now has over 200 peer-reviewed open access journals. The journals cover all major disciplines. Some of the disciplines covered by the journals include Genetics, Geology, Earth Sciences, Neuroscience, and Operational Research.  While the publisher is still building the collection in that not all of the journals have content, they have made freely available what content they have, as indicated on their website. The journal articles are made available for downloading in PDF format. For more information about accessing journal articles or submitting articles please visit the Bentham Publishers Open Access website. 

December 05, 2007

A Change is Coming!


Coming in January:
         New enhancements to ISI Web of Knowledge
         Dual access to be discontinued

Currently, dual access to the new and old version of ISI Web of Knowledge is available. Dual access has been provided so you can become familiar with the new features and functionality while still accessing the older version.  With the scheduled January 27 release, dual access to ISI Web of Knowledge will be discontinued, and all users and institutions will access the new version.  The older version will no longer be available.

ACCESS the new ISI Web of Knowledge!
http://newface.newisiknowledge.com/

Sign up for Live WebEx training sessions
http://scientific.thomson.com/support/training/webtraining/

Connect for short, recorded training sessions
http://scientific.thomson.com/support/recorded-training/wok/

Visit ISI's website to learn more
http://isiwebofknowledge.com/currentuser_wokhome/cu_new/newface/

Google Search


About USF Libraries

  • The USF Library System
    consists of four main campus libraries and two special libraries. Together, the USF Libraries provide access to more than 2 million volumes and an extensive collection of electronic resources.